Laramie/Cheyenne Residents Tell All About Suicide Encounters

13 Oct

I Lost Someone to Suicide: 

Suicide is still a hush hush topic, but for these individuals, it is a reality they live everyday.

  • “It’s like having a part of yourself torn out of the world. You feel so helpless and broken. And you can never chase away the thought that there were so many things you could have done to prevent it, but it’s too late. Usually people can learn to cope with death. But guilt doesn’t go as easily with time.” Says Nathan Jenkins, a survivor of his uncle, and close friend. (Laramie, Wyoming)
  • “I had 2 close friends leave me in one month, one of them was my boyfriend actually. I couldn’t blame them because I understood why they couldn’t take it anymore, but I can’t get over it. I don’t think I ever will, it’s always in the back of my head.” Says Brittany Dauenbaugh who lost two friends in August of 2011. (Cheyenne, Wyoming)
Brittany Dauenbaugh Lost two friends in 2011.

Brittany Dauenbaugh Lost two friends in 2011.

 

Suicide and my Attempts:

Suicide is a hush hush topic, but for individuals that have tried it, it is a far harder reality to live with everyday.

  • “I think my first time was when I was 13, I went through a traumatic event, and no one was there to help me and listen. I finally decided I just couldn’t take it anymore. I attempted many times within the next 7 years. I am still trying to recover from the damage I have caused myself. Things are better, but there is always the luring thought that what if things get bad again?” Says Zoey Miller. (Cheyenne, Wyoming).
  • “I usually don’t like to talk about “it”. To everyone else it was a stupid phase in my life, of course to me it was a torturous time, but it doesn’t matter to anyone else.” Says Danni Fifield. (Laramie, Wyoming)
Danni Fifield

Danni Fifield

These individuals are not numbers that go in a book. They don’t even matter in most people’s minds. They are the “leftovers” of the victims, and individuals that aren’t even the victims.

If you need are feeling suicidal, depressed, or need someone to talk to call 1-800-273-8255 or visit the National Suicide LifeLine Website.

Leave a Reply

