A Dream Fulfilled

11 Dec
IMG_0006By Diane Binder

Dreams, simply delayed

At the beginning of this semester students were required to tell about themselves in a mock blog post for the Intro to Multimedia course.  I shared how my husband and I had moved to Laramie in an effort to pursue some of our life dreams, and that I was now attending college for the first time.  Well, I am very proud to say that at the age of 54 I am completing my associate of arts degree in general studies of fine arts and humanities this semester!  It is never too late to pursue your dreams, sometimes they have simply been delayed.  If it wasn’t for LaramieCounty Community College I may have never made the leap to begin college at this time of my life.

Instructors deliverIMG_0101

I have had many wonderful instructors the last two and a half years,  each with  different teaching styles and demands; I have learned more than I ever thought possible.  I developed my own areas of concentration within my studies that were outside of my degree requirements.  I focused on learning how to improve my writing skills and took all of the art classes available.  I was honored to have a poem and two nonfiction pieces published in the 4th edition of the Open Window Review, the literary magazine of the Albany County campus of LCCC, after taking two semesters of  Creative Writing: Nonfiction and Poetry.  Here are a few samples of some of the artwork from assignments in my art classes.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chapter closes

Although I am finishing up at LCCC, it isn’t the end of the story.  I’m still not  sure what I want to “be” when I grow up, but one thing is for certain, I will never stop learning or pursuing dreams.

Leave a Reply

