Take a Veteran to School Day – Inspiration

9 Dec

Some of you might be wondering why I am posting the program after the fact, and for that matter, month after it took place. Well, sit tight the explanation is coming up.

Thank a veteran every day

Having an assigned day to thank this nations veterans is great, but really, in my opinion, gratitude toward them should be shown every opportunity one might have. They sacrifice everything and don’t ask for anything in return. Buy a veteran a coffee or if you can pay for they meal, pay it forward to a veteran and their family. Don’t forget not only does the veteran serve but also his/her family. Holidays are the worst for military families to be away from their loved ones, or to spend it in a different state/country.

Take a second look at the homeless

62,619 veterans were homeless on a single night in the United States in 2012—13 percent of all homeless adults—according to the Department of Housing and Urban Development’s 2012 Annual Homeless Assessment Report. To read the full report click here.
So that homeless person sitting on the side of the street asking you for a dollar, could be one of this nations veterans. This following video went viral and has been shared many times over on Facebook and other social media. The transformation is quite something, but honestly this video made me tear up. It shows how you perception of a person can change.

This is not my video.

Veteran affairs are close to heart


Now finally I will come to the point. Veterans are close to my heart and always have been. Once upon a time, I was an Army wife. I met my ex husband right after he came back from his one year deployment in Iraq. I have family members that have served and are currently serving in the military. I have worked on base and I have volunteered for different programs supporting veterans. A lot of my friends are veterans, because my hometown had an Army base and the surrounding areas had bases. Therefore, being at the “Take a Veteran to School Day” program inspired me to do my final video project for my video production class on veterans. I am hoping to keep this tribute to veterans going beyond the class… As long as veterans are talking to me and are willing to let me record it, it will be on my YouTube channel.

Take a Veteran to School Day – Interviews

Take a Veteran to School Day – The Program

2 Responses to “Take a Veteran to School Day – Inspiration”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Take a Veteran to School Day – Interviews | LCCC Life on Campus - December 9, 2013

    […] Take a Veteran to School Day – Inspiration […]

  2. Take a Veteran to School Day – The Program | LCCC Life on Campus - December 9, 2013

    […] Take a Veteran to School Day – Inspiration […]

Leave a Reply

