Thrifting We Will Go

10 Oct

Thrifting, Not a Proper Verbsalv. army

So apparently a word that I often use to describe a type of shopping that I enjoy is not really a word at all, at least not to Merriam Webster.  The Free Dictionary does however acknowledge this word, and defines it as “the act of shopping at a thrift store, flea market, garage sale, or a shop of charitable organization, usually with the intent of finding interesting items at a low price.”  That pretty much sums it up, accept for the fact that there is a pure thrill that accompanies the hunt!  The Free Dictionary also explains that although, “it is not a proper verb, thrifting or to thrift has found place in modern American language out of necessity. There seems to be no other verb that fits the term to shop for re-purposed/re-used products.”

I’m Thrifting, I’m a Thrifter!

Please tell me that you have watched What About Bob?. If not stop what you are doing right now, open a new tab and type in “What About Bob Sailing Scene” and then make a note to rent the movie this weekend.  Now, with that said, I am someone who goes thrifting, therefore I am a thrifter.  Some people enjoy climbing rocks, that makes them rock climbers, and others like to go spelunking, which means they are spelunkers.  I am a thrifter, and I have been nicknamed such things as “The Queen of Thrift” and have been told that I have a “gift of thrift.”  I am proud to say that most of the things I own have previously been owned by someone else.  But just like rock climbers and spelunkers, I too have my favorite locations to practice my activity.

Help Me, Help You

I donate to my local Salvation Army Thrift Store regularly by giving them gently used items to resell in their store, which in turn, helps those in need.  But honestly, I support them most often through my devoted thrifting habit.  Laramie’s Salvation Army Thrift Store is small but mighty when it comes to special and unique items at a very affordable price.  I stopped by there this morning and snapped a picture of the delightful store manager, Michelle Capps, and then perused the store for possible treasures.  After returning home I looked around my home and took some pictures of items that I have purchased from S.A. so that I could share them with you, and possibly inspire you to go thrifting as well.  Watch below or check them out here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to “Thrifting We Will Go”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thrifting; part two: getting serious | LCCC Life on Campus - October 23, 2013

    […] Some people purchase items at thrift stores in order to upcycle them into better items. Upcycle, not yet accepted as a common word by Merriam Webster, is defined by wikipedia as, “the process of converting waste materials or useless products into new materials or products of better quality or for better environmental value.”  Again, there are many websites like Upcycle That that are full of inspiration, as well as High Plains Thrifter and Life as a Thrifter, that have an artful and creative flare to inspire anyone who enjoys decorating and diy projects.  The items pictured to the right are a just a couple of items from my home that I have purchased at Salvation Army, they were also featured in a slideshow from my last post on thrifting. […]

  2. Christmas, getting out of the box | LCCC Life on Campus - November 14, 2013

    […] hand gifts.  If you haven’t already done so, get some pre-Christmas thrift inspiration here and here, and then come back.  So, let’s continue… after making your list and […]

Leave a Reply

