Bear-Poo Cookies, AKA

8 Oct

My Great Great Grandparents.

Made with coco, milk, butter…

My great great grrandparents came to America from Ireland in the 1800’s and went to work for the railroad in order to make their way West. My great great grandfather worked on the rail system and my great great grandmother was a cook.

The Name.

Bear S*** Cookies is their real name. They got their name from my great great grandfather.The story goes that he laughed at how they looked, but loved the way they tasted. My great great grandmother would make them for him whenever she could because, my mom told us “She loved to hear him laugh.”  My great great grandfather died in 1864 during the Civil War.

They’re easy to make. All it takes for each batch is;

1 cup sugar, 1/4 cup milk, 1/4 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 2 T coco, 1 3/4 cups oatmeal.

Mix together the milk, butter, and sugar in a sauce pan until boiling. Boil for one minute. Remove from heat and mix in the rest of the ingredients and any fruit or nuts you like. Place on paper and let cool.

Leave a Reply

