Fiddler on the Roof, perfect match for Cheyenne Little Theater Players

5 Oct
Fiddler on the Roof by Distant Window
Fiddler on the Roof #22,
a photo by Distant Window on Flickr.

MidAmerica Nazarene University’s
production of Fiddler on the roof.
Uploaded March, 31, 2009 by Aaron Tank.

Traditions from nowhere

For the past three years my Mother and I have gone to Fiddler on the Roof at the Mary Godfrey Playhouse and each year it seems to improve.

It seems that for the others attending, it was a tradition to see this play as well. I spoke with an old teacher of mine, Mr. Trowbridge. He noted that he enjoys seeing this play each year as well as enjoying watching the actors and actresses improve from year to year.

As Tevye says about tradition; “You may ask, how did this tradition start? I’ll tell you. I don’t know.” Much like how Tevye has no clue about how his traditions have started, I don’t know why the tradition of seeing this play or performing this play started, but I do know that as long as this play is performed in Cheyenne, Wyoming by our local actors and actresses, my Mother and I will be watching. Its tradition!

Quotes that even the “Good Book” can’t find

Tevye is the main character in this play and is performed by actor and Principal Royce Backman.

Throughout the play there are many things Tevye has to quote from the Good Book. My personal favorite is; “As the Good Book says, if you spit in the air, it lands in your face.”

Another humorous quote comes from when Tevye is talking with a friend of his, Mendel, who is played by Sammy Dafoe, and he says “As the Good Book says, when a poor man eats a chicken, one of them is sick.” To which Mendel asks, “Where does the book say that?” and Tevye responds, “Well, it doesn’t say that exactly, but somewhere there is something about a chicken. Good Sabbath!”

I love Tevye’s character because he always has a piece of wisdom to share, even though he may not know a whole lot. He is always willing to lend a bit of advice that turns out to be humorous but useful.

Click on the link to watch Tevye quote the “Good Book.”
“Dear God”

Kaleidoscopic melodies

The most famous song from this play is obviously Tradition. However, did you know that there are many other famous songs from this performance?

For example the song “If I Were a Rich Man” originated from this play but, Gwen Stefani remade this song into a pop song in 2004 called “Rich Girl.”

Matchmaker is also a song that is very popular. But, did you know that its lyrics originated from this play? Click on the link above to listen to this familiar tune.

I find that a lot of the lyrics are ripped from this play and put in other popular music.  I believe that is so because this play has so many things to learn from. I like that people in today’s society are taking the lessons from this play and still using them in popular music today.

Here is a list of the musical numbers in Fiddler on the Roof

Tradition
Matchmaker
If I Were A Rich Man (my personal favorite)
Sabbath Prayer
L’Chaim (To Life!) ((note the wonderful choreography in this video!)
Miracle of Miracles (Wonder of Wonders)
The Dream
Sunrise, Sunset
Now I Have Everything
Do You Love Me?
The Rumour
Far From the Home I Love
Little Chavelah
Anatevka

The E.N.D.

You can still go and see this play for the rest of October! Check out my last post for more information!

I could quote Tevye forever but I will conclude with one last quote. When Tevye is talking with a teacher he hired named Perchik, played by Justin Batson, Perchik states “Money is the world’s curse” to which Tevye says “May the Lord smite me with it! And may I never recover!” So True!

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

