Meet Georgia Rowswell

18 Nov

A brief introduction

Georgia Rowswell  is a multimedia artist in Cheyenne, WY who owns a home art gallery called Artful Hand Studio and Gallery that is open during the art walk in Art, Design, and Dine or by appointment. She loves to have variety in her work as well as in the gallery. I have had an opportunity to meet her and have a great interview with her.

How long have you been into art?

I have been into art since I was a little girl. I always remember drawing and my parents set me up with oil painting when I was about 13, took all the art classes in school. Then I took art courses at a local college, then went on to get a degree in Bachelor of Fine Arts and then, every few years, I take residential intense classes. My mother did hand artwork, and so I took a blend of formal and informal education with my artwork.

What is your favorite medium?

I don’t know. I like mixing different media in one artwork. It is like dancing, I am like a lead dancer and my material are also important to the final dance. It depends on the concept, what the concept is, and what the material is that I’m using. Leather is one thing I found fun to work with. Leather is one of the material I did not consider until I moved to Wyoming. I like to work with different things. One thing I don’t like is material that feels rather flat, like just using oil or just using acrylic.

Is there anything you would like to try?

I don’t think that’s my problem. One thing I would like to try is Rawhide. One thing I make consistently is paper.

What is your inspiration?

Subject matter wise- I am inspired by the land. Wyoming is great since there is a lot of geographical features.

If the entire town of Cheyenne got 10 feet of snow on Thanksgiving Day, what would you build?

First off let’s hope that the entire town of Cheyenne does not get 10 feet and I actually would not be here, I would be at Buffalo, New York which might get 10 feet of snow. I think I would build something like an igloo- something I could hide in and light a candle.

If the weather was perfect for a week, any week, where would you travel?

Recently I had a camping trip in the Red Desert. So I think I would go something like a camping trip.

What is your earliest memory of creating anything?

I guess I think it is a drawing I did for the church. I think the reason I remember about it is because I had won a prize. I know I was doing a lot of drawing before that.

What kinds of projects have you done in the past?

Since I moved to Cheyenne, I was collabrating with other artists and so I was inspired to do the art walk in Art, Design, and Dine by having a gallery for other artists to be able to show off their work.

What are 10 things you could use for painting in a non-traditional way?

A burnt stick, Yucca, Yucca leaf, dirt, horse hair into a brush, natural dyes, blanket, fingers, cue tip, and dog’s feet.

Thank you very much for allowing me to interview. Next blog post I will show the questions about the gallery she owns. I will also have a view of what the gallery looks like in general.

Leave a Reply

